Writing Challenge Day 1

So here we go, day one of my 66 days of blogging. Today has been quite a productive and enjoyable day but I have some thinking to do. As I said yesterday I had two interviews today, the one in the cinema was like an assessment day which lasted about two hours and was actually really enjoyable, we had to do various numeracy and literacy tests, also some group work and some solo oratory stuff. All of which is well within my comfort zone and I feel I came across well, I have just checked and have an email from them asking me to give them a call so I’m assuming they are offering me a job, I’ll call them tomorrow, however if that’s not the case I’ll end up looking like a right tit now, but oh well. I also had a voicemail from Subway offering me a job, which is also a good option but the real gem of the day was the trial shift I had with Deliveroo. I think out of the three this is the one that I want the most, the trial shift went well, it was only an hour and was actually just spent talking over details of what the job entails rather than doing the job itself, that comes later I’m told. My trial shift was with a lovely girl called Zoe who is also studying animal welfare at Hartpury, I can’t remember her job title but she’s essentially the team leader for Deliveroo Gloucester and seems like a great person to work with. I met her outside Cafe Tucci in Gloucester Quays and we cycled over to Coffee #1, en route we witnessed what we thought was a mugging, there were two guys acting a bit crazy and running down the street while an equally crazy girls was yelling as she gave chase, Zoe was even lucky enough to take a punch from one of the suspected wrongdoers as we cycled passed, she said she was fine though and didn’t seem too phased so I took her word for it and we carried on our way, we saw some police just up the road so stopped off to report it, it seems like this isn’t too rare round these ways. All I need to do is get my background check sorted and fingers crossed, I’m in. Realistically I need to weigh up my options and consider what’s going to be best for me but you know what, I think work is such an important part of life and we spend so much time there I’m inclined just to say fuck it and just go with my heart. I’ll sleep on it and see how I feel. In general it’s been a good day, I’ve smashed out plenty of press ups and flutter kicks, planked my ass off and eaten super healthy foods. I made an awesome satay sauce from scratch and managed to find some scotch bonnets to go in it so it packed a punch, I paired it up with some cauliflower couscous and some courgetti that I found reduced in Sainsbury’s and made enough for lunch tomorrow as well. I cooked rice in the slow cooker for the first time and only burnt a tiny bit of it so I consider that a success, I’m looking forward to doing some kind of fried rice thing for breakfast, stand by for updates. If I can I’ll get some photos up tomorrow. I say if I can, I actually have no plans for tomorrow so I’m sure I can fit something interesting in. So that’s day 1, I hope as I progress through this challenge I’ll find more interesting things to write about and I hope this will motivate and inspire me to do more interesting things in general but we’ll have to wait and see. Night X

Leave a comment